Extreme Weather News

TRMM Sees Sandy As A Hurricane Again

TRMM Sees Sandy As A Hurricane Again

Yesterday Sandy dropped to tropical storm intensity but the National Hurricane Center (NHC) decided on October 27,2012 at 1500 UTC (11 AM EDT) that Sandy was again a minimal hurricane. The rainfall analysis on the right was made from TRMM's Microwave Imager (TMI) and Precipitation Radar (PR) data collected when TRMM flew above less than an hour later at 1552 UTC (11:52 AM EDT). This analysis includes some rainfall that was beyond the reach of land based radar observations.

KEYWORDS