Mission Updates

Extreme Weather News

More Tornadoes over the Southern United States

The TRMM satellite flew over tornadic thunderstorms for the second time in less than a week on 9 March 2011 at 1208 UTC ( 6:08 AM CST). By 1652Z (10:52 AM CST) NOAA had received 9 tornado sighting over Louisiana, Alabama and Florida. A precipitation analysis from TRMM's Microwave Imager (TMI) and Precipitation Radar (PR) (in the lighter swath) again showed extremely heavy rainfall near tornadic activity. TRMM's Precipitation Radar (PR) data were used in the image on the upper right to show a 3-D slice through a possible tornado.

Animation of a tornado in Louisiana