Extreme Weather News

Jump to a Year

2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011

2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003 | 2002

GPM IMERG Measures Rainfall Accumulation from Hurricane Dorian in the Caribbean
Hurricane Dorian is packing heavy rain as it moves toward the Bahamas as predicted by NOAA’s NHC or National Hurricane Center. NASA's GPM mission recently analyzed the storm and found heavy rainfall in the storm as it passed through the Caribbean. This image shows estimated rainfall accumulations for the region affected by Hurricane Dorian over the 24 hour period of Aug.27 11:59 UTC to Aug. 28 11:59 UTC. The imagery was generated using the Integrated Multi-satEllite Retrievals for GPM (IMERG...
Emily over Hispaniola
Tropical Storm Emily dissipated after being disrupted by the mountains of Hispaniola but according to the National Hurricane Center (NHC), may...

 

TRMM image of heavy rains in Emily
The TRMM satellite saw tropical storm Emily again on 4 August 2011 at 0122 UTC (9:22 PM EDT). An analysis of TRMM's Microwave Imager (TMI) and...

 

TRMM image of typhoon Muifa
Typhoon Muifa had wind speeds of about 95 kts (~109 mph) when the TRMM satellite passed above on 3 August 2011 at 1307 UTC. Muifa is now...

 

TRMM Image of Tropical Storm Emily
The National Hurricane Center (NHC) announced the formation of tropical storm Emily on 1 August 2011 at 2330 UTC (7:30 PM AST). The TRMM...

 

TRMM image of Eugene near Mexico
The TRMM satellite showed that tropical storm Eugene was very well organized with heavy thunderstorms located south of a forming eyewall on 1...

 

TRMM image of storm in the Atlantic
On 1 August 2011 at 0056 UTC the TRMM satellite traveled above an area of low pressure east of the Lesser Antilles that the National Hurricane...

 

TRMM image of Muifa
MUIFA was a super typhoon with wind speeds of 140 kts (~161 mph) on 30 August but wind speeds had dropped to about 110 kts (~127 mph) when it...

 

TRMM image of Don
The TRMM satellite passed over tropical storm DON on 29 July 2011 at 0650 UTC (1:50 AM CDT) while the storm was in the Gulf Of Mexico. TRMM'...

 

TRMM image of Don
The TRMM satellite again viewed tropical storm DON on 29 July 2011 at 1322 UTC (7:22 AM CDT). A rainfall analysis from TRMM's Microwave...

 

Pages