Extreme Weather News

Jump to a Year

2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011

2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003 | 2002

GPM IMERG Measures Rainfall Accumulation from Hurricane Dorian in the Caribbean
Hurricane Dorian is packing heavy rain as it moves toward the Bahamas as predicted by NOAA’s NHC or National Hurricane Center. NASA's GPM mission recently analyzed the storm and found heavy rainfall in the storm as it passed through the Caribbean. This image shows estimated rainfall accumulations for the region affected by Hurricane Dorian over the 24 hour period of Aug.27 11:59 UTC to Aug. 28 11:59 UTC. The imagery was generated using the Integrated Multi-satEllite Retrievals for GPM (IMERG...
TRMM image of Irene approaching the Carolinas
The TRMM satellite saw hurricane Irene again on 26 August 2011 at 2023 UTC (4:23 PM EDT) when winds had weakened to about 85 kts (~98mph). This...

 

TRMM radar image showing vertical cloud structure of Irene over Bahamas
After becoming a small hurricane while passing over Puerto Rico, Irene re-emerged over the warm, open waters of the western Atlantic northwest of...

 

TRMM rain-map image of Harvey
Tropical storm Harvey is dissipating inland over southern Mexico while hurricane Irene is drenching the island of Puerto Rico. Harvey's track...

 

TMM radar image showing vertical structure of Irene
It's been a busy season so far in terms of tropical storms with seven named storms already in the Atlantic basin; however, none of them have...

 

TRMM image of Irene
The National Hurricane Center (NHC) issued it's first advisory for tropical storm Irene on 20 August 2011 at 2300 UTC (7 PM EDT). The TRMM...

 

TRMM image of Harvey
The TRMM satellite had an excellant daylight view of tropical storm Harvey on 20 August 2011 at 1744 UTC ( 1:44 PM EDT) as the storm was coming...

 

Tropical Depression 08L Forms In The Caribbean
The TRMM satellite had a good daytime view of the tropical wave that was upgraded to the Atlantic Ocean basin's eighth tropical depression on...

 

Sea surface temperature image around Fernanda
Ocean water warmer than 26C is a necessary condition for tropical cyclones to support convection. A TMI based Sea Surface Temperature (SST)...

 

TRMM radar image of Tropical cyclone forming
An area of potential tropical cyclone formation in the Atlantic Ocean about 800 miles east of the Lesser Antilles was seen by the TRMM satellite...

 

Pages