Skip Navigation
Background Image
Original Smaller

PRECIPITATION MEASUREMENT MISSIONS

TRMM: Extreme Weather

Deadly Tornadoes Hit Southern States For Second Day

Deadly Tornadoes Hit Southern States For Second Day

For the second day in a row deadly tornadoes hit the the southern United States. Mississippi was the hardest hit with nine people killed by tornadoes that hit Tupelo. The TRMM satellite had two good views as extreme weather continued moving through the area on Monday April 28, 2014 at 11:00 PM CDT (April 29, 2014 at 0400 UTC) and early Tuesday April 29, 2014 at 00:38 AM CDT (0538 UTC). Rainfall derived from TRMM's Microwave Imager (TMI) and Precipitation Radar (PR) data is shown overlaid on GOES-EAST infrared satellite images captured on April 29, 2014 at 0402 UTC and 0532 UTC. Red symbols show the locations where numerous tornadoes were reported from Monday afternoon through Tuesday morning.

Click here to see a Low Resolution 640x360 simulated 3-D (Quicktime) flyby animation at 0400 UTC using TRMM PR data.

Click here to see a Low Resolution 640x360 simulated 3-D (MPEG) flyby animation at 0404 UTC using TRMM PR data.

Deadly Tornadoes Hit Southern States For Second Day

MORE WEATHER NEWS